You are now in the main content area

Laurentian University Model Parliament 2014

Laurentian University’s 22nd Annual Model Parliament was held from January 9th to January 12th this year. Put on by the Laurentian University Political Science Association, this trip to Ottawa gives students the opportunity to experience life as a politician as they debate made-up legislation in the House of Commons. The opportunity is open to all LU students — a phenomenal chance to meet people, have fun, and live the life of an MP for a day!

After a day of thrilling debate in the House, participants were treated to a sumptuous 4-course banquet at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier. Students dressed in their best suits and gowns; hoping to receive one of LUPSA’s acclaimed Model Parliament awards. Special guests included Laurentian University President Dominic Giroux and former Finance Minister and Deputy Premier under the Bob Rae government, Floyd Laughren.

This year at Model Parliament, students had the opportunity to ask questions of CTV Parliament Hill reporter Richard Madan. Madan brought a behind-the-scenes journalist perspective to the table, allowing students to see both sides of the parliamentary coin.

Students also had a chance to meet Laurentian University’s new chancellor (the guy who signs and hands you your degrees), Steve Paikin. Paikin is a Canadian journalist, author, and documentary producer at TVOntario, Ontario’s provincial broadcaster. He is currently anchor and senior editor of TVO’s flagship current affairs program The Agenda with Steve Paikin. Paikin chatted with students at a popular pub for journalists in downtown Ottawa; D’arcy McGee’s.

Even if you know absolutely nothing about Parliament or politics in general, you should really consider coming to next year’s Model Parliament. It’s a great way to meet new friends from a wide variety of programs, make connections with university faculty, and gain a basic understanding of federal politics.

If you’re interested in getting involved with the organization of Model Parliament 2015, “like” the Laurentian University Political Science Association (LUPSA) on Facebook and get ahold of Noel Walker, the current president of LUPSA.

For a play-by-play of the students’ day in parliament, check out this story by the Lambda: