Back to Top


Faculty of Arts

Discover a vibrant, bilingual community housed in departments, schools and programs at Laurentian University and its Federated partners which include Huntington University, Thorneloe University and the University of Sudbury. Our professors create a stimulating environment in Sudbury by organizing lectures and conferences for you to attend.


Faculty of Education

We offer strong teacher education programs at Laurentian University in both of Canada’s official languages. Our concurrent program (English) allows undergraduate students to obtain a combined BEd/BA degree in five (5) years, while our consecutive program (French) provides a two year, after degree option enabling aspiring students to teach in Francophone or French Immersion schools. Our students complete practicum experiences in Greater Sudbury, as well as in K-12 schools throughout Ontario.


Faculty of Graduate Studies

The new Faculty of Graduate Studies reflects the growing importance of the University’s 38 master’s and PhD programs. Applications to graduate programs are up 60% for Fall 2014. Two new master’s programs are being introduced this fall: a M.A. in Indigenous Relations and a Maîtrise en sciences infirmières (M.Sc. Nursing in French).


Faculty of Health

The new Faculty of Health includes the School of Human Kinetics, the School of Indigenous Relations, the School of Nursing, the School of Rural and Northern Health, the School of Social Work, the Midwifery program, the Orthophonie program (Speech Pathology in French) and Huntington University’s Department of Gerontology.


Faculty of Management

The Faculty of Management encompasses programs that prepare students for professions relating to business and administration (i.e. business administration, e-business, commerce, sports administration, etc.)


Faculty of Medicine

The first medical school in Canada with a social accountability mandate, the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) has become a world recognized leader in the field of health professional education. Its unique model of distributed, community-engaged medical education and research is producing highly sought after physicians, residents, physician assistants, dietitians, and other health-care professionals.


Faculty of Science, Engineering and Architecture

The renamed Faculty of Science, Engineering and Architecture features the departments of Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Harquail School of Earth Sciences, Forensic Science, Mathematics and Computer Science, Physics, the Bharti School of Engineering endowed in October 2011, the new School of Architecture which welcomed its charter class of 70 students in September 2013 and the new School of Environment created earlier this year.


Departments & Schools

Goodman School of Mines

Interested in a career in mining? It is not just about mining, it is about finding a mine, building a mine, building relationships with Indigenous communities, restoring old mine sites to become productive land or maybe financing your own company or someone else’s to make the next big discovery. There are hundreds of exciting careers that can take you around the world.

There are six disciplines to choose from in the Goodman School of Mines; maybe you want to work towards a major in Mining Engineering but also want to add to that a minor in Community relations; you can do that here. We are the only mining school with programs that stretch across the breadth of the mining cycle, from discovery to ecological recovery.