You are now in the main content area

Honorary Doctorates to be Awarded at Laurentian University Convocation

Justice Michelle O'Bonsawin, Dr. Catharine Farrow, and Dr. Dan Andreae to be recognized

June 3, 2024 - Laurentian University is awarding three honorary doctorate degrees during this week’s convocation ceremonies. The honorary degree recipients will be in attendance to be recognized alongside graduating students.

“We are very pleased to be joined this week by these three inspirational leaders. Each of them has reached the top of their respective disciplines and their presence at convocation will signal to graduates that truly anything is possible. Their contributions to the common good are exceptional and worthy of the highest honour we can bestow,” said Dr. Lynn Wells, President & Vice-Chancellor, Laurentian University.

The convocation ceremonies will be streamed live via YouTube and are available from

Award Dates

  • June 4, 10:00am: Justice Michelle O'Bonsawin - Honorary Doctorate of Law
  • June 5, 2:30pm: Dr. Catharine Farrow - Honorary Doctorate of Business Administration
  • June 6, 10:00am: Dr. Daniel Andreae - Honorary Doctorate of Letters

Justice Michelle O'Bonsawin

The Honourable Michelle O’Bonsawin became the first Indigenous person to serve on Canada's highest court, when she was appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada on September 1, 2022. She is a widely respected member of Canada’s legal community with a distinguished career spanning over 20 years. Born in Hanmer, Ontario, and a fluently bilingual Franco-Ontarian, Justice O’Bonsawin is an Abenaki member of the Odanak First Nation. Justice O’Bonsawin was appointed to the Ontario Superior Court of Justice in 2017. She is a graduate of Laurentian University’s Bachelor of Arts.

Dr. Catharine Farrow

Dr. Farrow is a professional geoscientist with more than 25 years of mining industry experience. She currently serves as a Director of Franco-Nevada, Centamin PLC, Eldorado Gold Corporation and Aclara Resources, and is Chair of the Board of Exiro Minerals Corp. Chair of the Advisory Board, ReThink Mining Ventures, which is part of Canada Mining Innovation Council. Member of The Capital Oversight Committee of Metrolinx. Catharine is also the President of FarExGeoMine, consulting with mining companies and legal organizations.. Previously, she was Founding CEO, Director and Co-Founder of TMAC Resources Inc (now part of Agnico Eagle Mines) as well as Chief Operating Officer of KGHM International. She has been honoured as one of the 100 Global Inspirational Women in Mining (2015 and 2018) and is a past recipient of the William Harvey Gross Medal of the Geological Association of Canada (2000). In 2020 was awarded distinguished Alumni at Acadia University.

Dr. Dan Andreae

With over twenty years of professional experience in the education sector, Dr. Andreae has established himself as a highly distinguished and esteemed expert in several areas, health, neuroscience, psychology, advocacy, and community organization. He has committed a considerable part of his career to studying, supporting, and advocating for those with brain issues, especially Alzheimer’s serving as an insightful and dynamic leader. He has been recognized by the Alzheimer Society of Toronto with a Lifetime Achievement Award, Outstanding Service award for Leadership, an award presented by the Chair of the international Alzheimer Society Princess Yasmin Khan and later a Pioneer Award. He was the first Executive Director of the Society and Chair of the Patrons Council.