You are now in the main content area

Sudbury 2050 Architecture Competition Jury Announced

Illustrious panel will select short-list for public presentations and competition winners this fall

(September 18, 2020) The McEwen School of Architecture (MSoA) is proud to announce the jurors of the Sudbury2050 Urban Ideas Competition. A roster of experienced local, national and international jurors will evaluate entries on their visionary, phased, and integrated thinking, as well as their ability to provide a visual language of their process through design. The initial design brief stated:

This competition challenges entrants to create a new vision for the urban core of the City of Greater Sudbury. A 2050 vision that is far-reaching and one that will serve the city well in a rapidly changing global environment.

The competition drew to a close on August 28, 2020, with submissions from all over the world, in both the Open and Student categories. The jury will soon have a clear picture of the rich tapestry of creativity that competition entrants have provided.

The Sudbury jury is composed of internationally recognized architects, designers, academics, politicians, entrepreneurs, and community representatives. 

Local political figures on the jury include Hon. Brian Bigger, Mayor of the City of Greater Sudbury and City Councillors Geoff McCausland and Deb McIntosh, while members from the McEwen School of Architecture in Sudbury include professors Shannon Bassett, David Fortin (MSoA Director) and Ted Wilson, along with Graduate students Britney Ottley-Perrotte and Tristan O’Gorman. Victor Kolynchuk, a practicing architect with Architecture49 Inc., based in northern Ontario, rounds out the local jurors.

Notable international jurors include: 

  • visionary architect Jason McLennan, originally from Sudbury, author of the Living Building Challenge that posits Regenerative Design as our environmental responsibility and architect for Seattle’s new net zero ‘Climate Pledge Arena’; 
  • graphic design guru Bruce Mau, also originally from Sudbury, Co-Founder of the Massive Change Network (MCN) and recent author of MC24: Bruce Mau's 24 Principles for Designing Massive Change in your Life and Work with global influence design education and innovation; 
  • architect Marianne McKenna, whose Canadian architectural firm KPMB has received over 300 design awards and received 16 Governor General Medals in Architecture, including one for the Royal Conservatory, TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning in Toronto; 
  • Lisa Rochon, award-winning journalist for the national Globe and Mail newspaper, architecture critic and author, and founder of CityLab in Toronto. 
  • architect Dee Dee Taylor Eustace, design advocate who leads a high-end practice of architecture, interior design, and product design in both Toronto and New York

Along with Mau, McKenna, McLennan, Rochon and Taylor, who are all members of the McEwen International Advisory Board, other jury members from the Advisory Board include philanthropist and entrepreneur Cheryl McEwen and Dr. David Fortin, Director of the McEwen School of Architecture (MSoA). The MSoA is the major sponsor for the competition.

The full Sudbury jury includes:

  • Shannon Bassett, MAUD, BARCH, MRAIC, McEwen School of Architecture (Laurentian University) (Sudbury, ON)
  • Brian Bigger, Mayor of Sudbury (Sudbury, Ontario, Canada)
  • David Fortin Ph.D., Director, McEwen School of Architecture (Laurentian University) (Sudbury, ON)
  • Victor Kolynchuk, MAA, OAA, LEED AP, Architecture49 Inc. (Winnipeg)
  • Bruce Mau, Massive Change Network and Chief Design Officer, Freeman (Chicago, USA)
  • Geoff McCausland, BMus, ARCT, IBDP, Pro.Dir., City of Greater Sudbury Councillor (Sudbury, ON)
  • Cheryl McEwen, Make My Day Foods Inc. and McEwen International Advisory Board (Toronto)
  • Deb McIntosh, City of Greater Sudbury Councillor (Sudbury, ON)
  • Marianne McKenna (OC), Partner, Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg (KPMB) Architects (Toronto)
  • Jason F. McLennan, McLennan Design and author of the Living Building Challenge (Bainbridge Island, USA)
  • Tristan O’Gorman, Graduate Student, McEwen School of Architecture (Laurentian University) (Sudbury, ON)
  • Britney Ottley-Perrotte, Graduate Student, McEwen School of Architecture (Laurentian University) (Sudbury, ON)
  • Lisa Rochon, Architectural Critic, Urbanist, Design Strategist, Citylab (Toronto, ON)
  • Dee Dee Taylor Eustace, OAA and Founder, Taylor Hannah Architect Inc. (Toronto ON and New York, USA)
  • Ted Wilson, OAA, McEwen School of Architecture (Laurentian University) (Sudbury, ON)

To read about the jury, click here.

The jury process will be coordinated by Jury Facilitator Toon Dreessen, OAA, FRAIC, President of DCA Architects in Ottawa and past-President of the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA). The Professional Advisors for the competition remain Terrance Galvin, MRAIC and Founding Director of the McEwen School of Architecture and Blaine Nicholls, FRAIC, retired OAA member and Chair of the original Steering Committee for the School of Architecture.

The winners of the competition, including the People’s Choice Award, will be announced later in the fall of 2020, following full jury deliberations. This phase of the competition promises to have excitement and creativity written all over it.