New opportunities for French-speaking students

Laurentian University, the University of Sudbury and Collège Boréal sign articulation agreement

October, 28, 2014 – Laurentian University, the University of Sudbury, and Collège Boréal have signed a framework agreement defining the recognition of university credits in order to support College Boréal graduates in continuing their education at a university level. The articulation agreement applies to all programs offered in French at Laurentian University and the University of Sudbury. Credits earned in the programs offered at all seven of Collège Boréal’s campuses across Ontario will be transferable to approximately 40 university degree programs. Laurentian University graduates who hold a Bachelor of Science degree, majoring in chemistry, can also transfer two years’ worth of credits to Collège Boréal’s three-year Chemical Engineering Technology program.


Dr. Denis Hurtubise, Associate Vice-President, Academic and Francophone Affairs at Laurentian University, stressed the importance of this collaboration between post-secondary institutions, “With this innovative agreement, Laurentian University, the University of Sudbury, and Collège Boréal are helping French-speaking students pursue different levels of postsecondary education and, at the same time, are encouraging them to do so in French. By formally recognizing their academic credentials, our institutions are helping students transition to another level of postsecondary education and consolidating the curriculum continuum in French Ontario.”


According to Daniel Giroux, Vice-President of Academics at Collège Boréal, “We are particularly proud to build on the strong existing relationship between Collège Boréal, Laurentian University, and the University of Sudbury in order to meet the legitimate expectations of Francophone students in Ontario. This framework agreement allows us to bring ongoing improvements to services and programs offered to French-speaking students across Ontario while maximizing their prospects.”



“The quality of post-secondary programs offered at the University of Sudbury, Laurentian University, and Collège Boréal allows students to consider transferring from one institution to another with ease,” said Pierre Zundel, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sudbury.  “Furthermore, our graduates will have the advantage of entering the labour market with additional skills and expertise while having saved time and money.”


This new framework agreement between Laurentian University, the University of Sudbury, and Collège Boréal echoes the provincial councils’ recent announcement facilitating credit transfer activities in Alberta, BC, New Brunswick, and Ontario in order to further develop student pathways and reduce barriers for students who transfer among Canadian colleges and universities. The Ontario Council on Articulation and Transfer (ONCAT) works with 44 publicly funded postsecondary institutions and is co-chaired by Glenn Vollebregt, President and CEO of St. Lawrence College and Dominic Giroux, President and Vice-Chancellor of Laurentian University.