You are now in the main content area

Celebrating the achievements of four outstanding women of Laurentian University

Valérie Gauthier-Fortin, Gisèle Roberts, Dr. Lynne Gouliquer, Dr. Bettina Brockerhoff-Macdonald

March 22, 2023 - On Wednesday, March 27th, Laurentian University's Presidential Advisory Committee on the Status of Gender Equity will honour the achievements of four women during its bi-annual awards ceremony.

The Outstanding Women Award is given to role models deserving of recognition for their work in promoting and uplifting women in their field, at Laurentian, in the community, and beyond. This year's recipients are Valérie Gauthier-Fortin, Gisèle Roberts, Dr. Lynne Gouliquer, and Dr. Bettina Brockerhoff-Macdonald.

Valérie Gauthier-Fortin is being honored for her leadership in promoting French-language research and innovation.

Gisèle Roberts is being honored for her leadership in encouraging female students to enter STEM fields and in advancing EDI on campus.

Dr. Lynne Gouliquer is being honored for her active research on the inclusion of women, 2SLGBTQI+, and Métis peoples.

The former Chair of the committee will also be honored at the event for her long-standing dedication and contribution to the committee over the span of a decade. Dr. Bettina Brockerhoff-Macdonald, who chaired the committee from 2003 to 2023, will receive a lifetime achievement award.

All are welcome to attend the ceremony. A virtual option is available for those wishing to join remotely:

Wednesday, March 27, 2024 at 3:00pm in the Brenda Wallace Reading Room, J.N. Desmarais Library and Archives
Meeting ID: 951 7429 2159
Passcode: 549457