You are now in the main content area

Laurentian University Board of Governors announce three new appointments

Experienced professionals with wealth of knowledge join board

(August 15, 2023) - The Laurentian University Board of Governors is pleased to welcome three new members, Brian Ramakko, Jean-Pierre (Jay) Barbeau, and Kevin Eshkawkogan. The appointments of these members were confirmed at the Board of Governors meeting on July 13, 2023 for 3-year terms.

“We are pleased to have three new community members extend their exceptional experience and knowledge to support Laurentian University on its path forward,” said Vernon Cameron, Chair of Laurentian University’s Board of Governors. “With the added appointments of Brian, Jean-Pierre and Kevin, we are confident that Laurentian University is well positioned to continue its path to provide leadership through transparency, collaboration and respect.” 

About Brian Ramakko

Ramakko is the owner of Ramakko’s Source for Adventure with nearly 40 years experience in business management and operations. He currently serves as board member and fundraiser chair for Manitoulin Streams and is co-chair of Fisheries Management (Zone 10). He also serves as board member of Finlandia SISU Charitable Foundation, as does he support the membership panel of Sudbury Regional Business Centre. He is a former member of the Rotary Club of Sudbury, where he is recognized as a Paul Harris Fellow. 

About Jean-Pierre (Jay) Barbeau

Barbeau is the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) for the Municipality of West Nipissing, a role within which he has provided strategic leadership for the overall administration of Municipal Services in West Nipissing for over 20 years. He has extensive knowledge and experience in public sector governance, policy development, strategic planning and benchmarking, accounting and finance, human resources management and labour relations as well as operations management. He is a graduate of Laurentian University, and is passionate about alumni relations. 

About Kevin Eshkawkogan

Eshkawkogan, also referred to as Giigidoh Ninii ('The Man who speaks for the people') is an Anishinabek from Manitoulin Island with close family ties in Aundeck Omni Kaning, M'Chigeeng, and Wikwemikong. He is the driving force, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Indigenous Tourism Association of Ontario (ITO) and has been fundamental in growing the Indigenous tourism industry locally, regionally, provincially, and nationally. He currently serves as member of the Board of Trustees for Science North & Dynamic Earth; serves as a Board Director with Sports Tourism Canada; is the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion committee co-chair for Tourism Industry Association of Ontario; and serves as a Executive Committee Member for both the Tourism Industry Association of Ontario and for Northern Policy Institute. He has served many organizations in various capacities. Some of which include as a elected Council Member for the M'Chigeeng First Nation, task force member for Northern Ontario transportation, wealth creation table member for Indigenous Affairs Ontario, Chairperson of the Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre, Vice-Chairperson of Destination Northern Ontario, contributing member of the Indigenous Tourism Collaborative of the Americas, and advisory committee member to Trans Canada Trails.