You are now in the main content area

Board of Governors Composition

Welcome to the Board of Governors

Hello, Bonjour, Annii,

We would like to acknowledge the Robinson-Huron Treaty of 1850. We also further recognize that Laurentian University is located on the traditional lands of the Atikameksheng Anishnawbek and that the City of Greater Sudbury, also includes the traditional lands of the Wahnapitae First Nation. We extend our deepest respect to Indigenous peoples - as a sign of our continued relationship we will support Laurentian University’s Truth and Reconciliation Task Force Recommendations. Miigwech.

2023-2024 Board of Governors

The composition of the Board as established by the Act of Incorporation, as amended from time to time, shall be 16 voting members.

In accordance with the General Bylaws of the Board of Governors of Laurentian University, Section 2.1, the current-serving members of the Board are as follows:

  1. Barbeau, Jean-Pierre (Jay) (Board Vice-Chair)
  2. Barry, Aaron
  3. Bouchard, Roxanne
  4. Cameron, Vernon (Board Chair)
  5. Eshkawkogan, Kevin
  6. Guay, André L.
  7. Harquail, David
  8. Kurkimaki, Laura
  9. Manitowabi, Tammy
  10. Olufowobi, Similoluwa (Student Representative - SGA)
  11. Ramakko, Brian
  12. Recollet, Angela
  13. Tavafi, Mehdi (Student Representative - GSA)
  14. Wells, Dr. Lynn (President & Vice-Chancellor)
  15. VACANCY (LGIC appointment)
  16. VACANCY (LGIC appointment)


View the list of the Members of the Board of Governors 2023-2024 (PDF)

University Secretary 

Vincent, Danielle (University Secretary)

Senate Representatives

Bassett, Shannon
Scott, Daniel

LU Faculty Association (LUFA)

Colin, Fabrice
Gorham, Robyn

Student Representatives

Sbaa, Nawfal (AÉF)

LU Administrative and Professional Staff Association (LUAPSA) Representative

Brockerhoff-Macdonald, Bettina

LU Staff Union (LUSU) Representative 

Fenske, Tom

Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) Representative

Motamedi, Monica

Laurentian University logo

                           Laurentian University Board of Governors
                           c/o. Office of the University Secretary