You are now in the main content area

Laurentian Federation

Four federated institutions, one vibrant university!


The Laurentian Federation

In 1960 and 1961 respectively, Huntington University and Thorneloe University were founded and joined with the University of Sudbury in the Laurentian Federation.

While each individual university contributes unique academic programs, distinct learning and residential accommodations, and other diverse attributes to Laurentian’s offerings, students at University of Sudbury, Thorneloe and Huntington are all Laurentian students who share classrooms, services, activities and are an integral part of the Laurentian community.

The Laurentian student card provides access to the university’s full spectrum of student amenities – from the library and the Laurentian Voyageur Athletics and Campus Recreation Centre, to the various support services. Laurentian’s federated universities add character and flexible options for students looking for specific programming or courses, a unique learning environment, or distinct residential style.

The best way to find the perfect fit is to arrange a tour of the facilities. This can be arranged quite easily by contacting us at 705-673-6594 or toll-free at 1-800-263-4188 or at


Huntington University

Huntington University is a liberal arts university which offers courses and programs in Communication Studies, Ethics, Gerontology, Religious Studies, and Theology. Huntington University is home to the Lougheed Teaching and Learning Centre. A first of its kind, the Centre promotes excellence and innovation in higher learning and professional development throughout the north.


Thorneloe University

Thorneloe University offers courses and programs in Ancient Studies, Religious Studies, Theatre Arts, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, Motion Picture Arts, and Theology. It is also a collaborator in the Master’s in Humanities and the Bachelor of Fine Arts programs.


The University of Sudbury

The University of Sudbury specializes in humanities and offers courses and programs in five areas of study: Indigenous Studies, Religious Studies, Philosophy, Journalism and Folklore. A great number of their courses are offered by distance education.