Schools & Departments

Faculty of Health - List of Schools & Departments

Gerontology is the study of older people and the issues associated with aging. The Gerontology program provides students with a dynamic education based on theory, applied skills and experiential research. Students learn using a multidisciplinary, intergenerational and cross-cultural approach as it links to aging. The curriculum is based on many disciplines, including physiology, psychology, sociology, public policy, biology, and spirituality, as well as ethics and mental health as they relate to the aging individual.

See Unit Webpage Link


Contact Us

Name Title Extension Email
Lorraine Mercer  Chair   lmercer@huntingtonu.ca

Human Kinetics includes five programs that, in distinct ways, examine the field of physical education, including research methods, the impact of physical activity and fitness on health and wellness within Canadian and international contexts. The School of Human Kinetics combines academics and elite sport by collaborating with the department of Athletics and various communities, provincial and national sport organizations.


Contact Us
Name Title Ext. Email
Olivier Serresse Director  1085 oserresse@laurentian.ca
Sylvain Grenier Coordinator, Kinesiology 1095 sgrenier@laurentian.ca
Patricia Pickard Coordinator, Health Promotion 1027 ppickard@laurentian.ca
James Little Coordinator, Outdoor Adventure Leadership 1205 jlittle@laurentian.ca
Kerry McGannon Coordinator, Sport Psychology 1204 kmcgannon@laurentian.ca
Amanda Schweinbenz Coordinator, Sport & Physical Education (SPED) 1084 aschweinbenz@laurentian.ca
Georges Kpazai Coordinator, EDPH 1075 gkpazai@laurentian.ca
Stephen Ritchie Coordinator MHK/MAP 1046 sritchie@laurentian.ca
Lise McGlade Administrative Assistant 1012 lmcglade@laurentian.ca
Julie Pafford Administrative Assistant 1090 jpafford@laurentian.ca

A midwife is a registered health care professional who provides primary care to women during pregnancy, labour and birth, including conducting normal vaginal deliveries and providing care to mothers and babies during the first six weeks postpartum.

The Midwifery program reflects the philosophy of midwifery in Ontario and its focus on women’s participation in their healthcare. it prepares students to become midwives in Ontario and other Canadian provinces and territories where midwifery is regulated. The program works closely with practicing midwives and other maternity care providers to ensure a high quality clinical environment for students.


Contact Us
Name Title Ext. Email
Susan James Director 3957 sjames@laurentian.ca
Nicole Wissell Administrative Assistant 3951 nwissell@laurentian.ca
Brigitte Labelle Administrative Assistant 3956 blabelle2@laurentian.ca
Chantal Séguin Community Placement Coordinator 3950 cseguin@laurentian.ca

The School of Indigenous Relations offers two programs for students:  The Honours Indigenous Social Work (ISW) bachelor program (On-campus and Distance Ed) and the Master of Indigenous Relations (MIR) program (On-campus).  The ISW was developed by the Aboriginal community in collaboration with the faculty and endorsed by the Robinson-Huron Chiefs.  This ISW program celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2013.  The MIR was developed by the Indigenous faculty at Laurentian in collaboration with Aboriginal communities and students.  It is the first Indigenous Master’s program in Northern Ontario, and it begins its first cohort of eight students in September 2014.


Contact Us
Name Title Ext. Email
Susan Manitowabi Director 5049 smanitowabi@laurentian.ca
Daniel Côté Coordinator, MIR (Fall) 5081 dcote@laurentian.ca
Taima Moeke-Pickering Coordinator, MIR (Winter) 5083 tmoekepickering@laurentian.ca
Sheri Cecchetto Placements Coordinator 5028 sx_cecchetto@laurentian.ca
Freda Recollet Administrative Assistant 5082 frecollet@laurentian.ca

Nursing is a knowledge-based profession that includes an exciting blend of science, mathematics, psychology, anthropology, organizational management and sociology, to name a few. Nursing education addresses each of these areas and prepares the student for a lifelong career locally or abroad with opportunities in acute care hospitals, public health, community healthcare, telehealth, outpost nursing, research, education, healthcare management, health policy development, 
and much more.


Contact Us
Name Title Ext. Email
Sylvie Larocque Director, Coordinator BSI 3804 slarocque@laurentian.ca
Heather Jessup-Falcioni Coordinator, Collaborative BScN (Fall) / BScN 3821 hjessup@laurentian.ca
Julie Duff-Cloutier Coordinator, Collaborative BScN (Winter) 3815 jduffcloutier@laurentian.ca
Irene Koren Coordinator, BScN Program (Winter) 3805 ikoren@laurentian.ca
Robyn Gorham Coordinator, MScN, MScInf, NP and IP Program 3737 rgorham@laurentian.ca
Christina Sckopke Academic Advisor, French Post RN Program 3707 csckopke@laurentian.ca
Louise Perreault Placement Coordinator (BScInf/BScN) 3802 lperreault@laurentian.ca
Brianna Ducharme Placement Coordinator (NP/IP/Masters) 3780 bducharme1@laurentian.ca
Carole Lafontaine Administrative Assistant 6589 clafontaine@laurentian.ca
Lynne Scopazzi Administrative Assistant 3800 lscopazzi@laurentian.ca

The School of Speech-Language Pathology offers a 4-year bachelor degree in Speech-Language Pathology (offered in French only). This program is the only interdisciplinary program of its kind offered in French in Canada. A 2-year master’s program in Speech-Language Pathology (also offered in French only) is also offered and aims to provide our students with the necessary skills to become fluently bilingual (French and English) Speech-Language Pathologists. The faculty consists of devoted professors who are committed to their students’ success. These active researchers are busy studying various topics ranging from the correlation between cognition and language disorders, to the effects of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome on language development, to studies on written language as well as the academic performance of students in a linguistic minority.


Contact Us
Name Title Ext. Email
Chantal Mayer-Crittenden Director 4121 cmayercrittenden@laurentian.ca
Michèle Minor-Corriveau Coordinator, MScS 4366 mminorcorriveau@laurentian.ca
Pascal Lefebvre Coordinator, BScS 4130 plefebvre2@laurentian.ca
Béatrice Dubé-Prévost Administrative Assistant 4122 bdubeprevost@laurentian.ca

The School of Rural and Northern Health at Laurentian University is home to the Interdisciplinary PhD Program in Rural and Northern Health (IRNH) and the Masters in Interdisciplinary Health (INDH). 

The School is designed:

  • to enhance both the quality and quantity of research focused on rural and northern health;
  • to train students to become high quality professionals in health research;
  • to promote the development of a critical mass of health research expertise in the north; and
  • to facilitate linkages between the university and community health organizations.


Contact Us
Name Title Ext. Email
Nancy Young Director 4014 nyoung@laurentian.ca
Nicole Yantzi Coordinator, PhD Program 3355 nyantzi@laurentian.ca
Nancy Lightfoot Coordinator, Grad Program 3972 nlightfoot@laurentian.ca
Cassandra Sigurdson Administrative Assistant 3976 csigurdson@laurentian.ca

The Social Work program is concerned with structural and individual change, and is committed to the eradication of social inequalities based on race, ethnicity, language, religion, marital status, gender, sexual orientation, age, abilities, economic status, political affiliation, national ancestry, and all other forms of oppression. Laurentian’s School of Social Work is committed to promoting awareness of the relationship between culture, language and ethnicity and the implications for social welfare and social work practice. 


Contact Us
Name Title Ext. Email
Stéphane Richard Interim Director 5046 srichard@laurentian.ca
Duncan Matheson Principal, Barrie 6714 dmatheson@laurentian.ca
François Boudreau Coordinator, MSS 5047 fboudreau@laurentian.ca
Sandra Hoy Coordinator, MSW 5031 shoy2@laurentian.ca
Sylvie Rivard Coordinator, BSS (Campus) 5062 srivard@laurentian.ca
Dominique Mercure Coordinator, BSS (Distance) 5061 dmercure@laurentian.ca
Suzanne Lacelle Placement Coordinator   se_lacelle@laurentian.ca
Francine Boudreau Placement Coordinator   fjboudreau@laurentian.ca
Murielle Pharand Administrative Assistant 5056 mpharand@laurentian.ca
Annette Duguay-Savard Administrative Assistant 5050 aduguay@laurentian.ca