Code : To be put immediately after the open body tag Here
Back to Top

Departments & Schools

Faculty of Health

Faculty of Health students practicing to take blood pressure.
 
Faculty of Health - List of Departments & Schools


Department of Gerontology (Huntington University)

Gerontology is the study of older people and the issues associated with aging. The Gerontology program provides students with a dynamic education based on theory, applied skills and experiential research. Students learn using a multidisciplinary, intergenerational and cross-cultural approach as it links to aging. The curriculum is based on many disciplines, including physiology, psychology, sociology, public policy, biology, and spirituality, as well as ethics and mental health as they relate to the aging individual.

Contact Us
Name Title Office Extension Email
Krishnan Venkataraman Program Director      

 

Department of Human Kinetics

Human Kinetics includes five programs that, in distinct ways, examine the field of physical education, including research methods, the impact of physical activity and fitness on health and wellness within Canadian and international contexts. The School of Human Kinetics combines academics and elite sport by collaborating with the department of Athletics and various communities, provincial and national sport organizations.

Contact Us
Name Title Office Extension Email
Céline Lariviere Program Director    1003 CLariviere@laurentian.ca
Sandra Dorman Grad. Coordinator, Human Kinetics   1015 SDorman@laurentian.ca
Sylvain Grenier Coordinator, Kinesiology   1095 SGrenier@laurentian.ca
Alain Gauthier Coordinator, Health Promotion   1071 AGauthier@laurentian.ca
James Little Coordinator, Outdoor Adventure Leadership   1205 JLittle@laurentian.ca
Kerry McGannon Coordinator, Sport Psychology   1204 KMcGannon@laurentian.ca
Julie Pafford Secretary   1090 JPafford@laurentian.ca

 

Department of Midwifery

A midwife is a registered health care professional who provides primary care to women during pregnancy, labour and birth, including conducting normal vaginal deliveries and providing care to mothers and babies during the first six weeks postpartum.

The Midwifery program reflects the philosophy of midwifery in Ontario and its focus on women’s participation in their healthcare. it prepares students to become midwives in Ontario and other Canadian provinces and territories where midwifery is regulated. The program works closely with practicing midwives and other maternity care providers to ensure a high quality clinical environment for students. 

Contact Us
Name Title Office Extension Email
Susan James Program Director   3957 SJames@laurentian.ca
Nicole Wissell Secretary   3951 NWissell@laurentian.ca

 

School of Indigenous Relations

The School of Indigenous Relations offers two programs for students:  The Honours Indigenous Social Work (ISW) bachelor program (On-campus and Distance Ed) and the Master of Indigenous Relations (MIR) program (On-campus).  The ISW was developed by the Aboriginal community in collaboration with the faculty and endorsed by the Robinson-Huron Chiefs.  This ISW program celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2013.  The MIR was developed by the Indigenous faculty at Laurentian in collaboration with Aboriginal communities and students.  It is the first Indigenous Master’s program in Northern Ontario, and it begins its first cohort of eight students in September 2014.

Contact Us
Name Title Office Extension Email
Freda Recollet Secretary A301 5082 frecollet@laurentian.ca
Sharon Corbiere-Johnson Access Supervisor  A300A 5055 scorbierejohnson@laurentian.ca
Taima Moeke-Pickering Director A301A 5083 tmoekepicering@laurentian.ca

 

School of Nursing

Nursing is a knowledge-based profession that includes an exciting blend of science, mathematics, psychology, anthropology, organizational management and sociology, to name a few. Nursing education addresses each of these areas and prepares the student for a lifelong career locally or abroad with opportunities in acute care hospitals, public health, community healthcare, telehealth, outpost nursing, research, education, healthcare management, health policy development, 
and much more.

Contact Us
Name Title Office Extension Email
Sylvie larocque Director, School of Nursing   3804 slarocque@laurentian.ca
Julie Cloutier Coordinator, BScN   3815 jduffcloutier@laurentian.ca
Christina McMillan Boyles Coordinator, BScN   3711 ca_mcmillan@laurentian.ca
Christina Sckopke Coordinator, BScN for Registered Nurses   3707 csckopke@laurentian.ca
Roberta Heale Coordinator, MScN   3971 rheale@laurentian.ca
Fran Guilbeault Secretary     FGuilbeault@laurentian.ca

 

Department of Speech-Language Pathology

The Department of Orthophonie offers a 4-year bachelor degree in Speech-Language Pathology (offered in French only). This program is the only interdisciplinary program of its kind offered in French in Canada. A 2-year master’s program in Speech-Language Pathology (also offered in French only) is also offered and aims to provide our students with the necessary skills to become fluently bilingual (French and English) Speech-Language Pathologists. The faculty consists of devoted professors who are committed to their students’ success. These active researchers are busy studying various topics ranging from the correlation between cognition and language disorders, to the effects of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome on language development, to studies on written language as well as the academic performance of students in a linguistic minority.

Contact Us
Name Title Office Extension Email
Michèle Minor-Corriveau Coordinator   4366 mminorcorriveau@laurentian.ca

 

School of Rural and Northern Health

The School of Rural and Northern Health at Laurentian University is home to the Interdisciplinary PhD Program in Rural and Northern Health (IRNH) and the Masters in Interdisciplinary Health (INDH). 

The School is designed:

  • to enhance both the quality and quantity of research focused on rural and northern health;
  • to train students to become high quality professionals in health research;
  • to promote the development of a critical mass of health research expertise in the north; and
  • to facilitate linkages between the university and community health organizations.
Contact Us
Name Title Office Extension Email
Dr. Elizabeth Wenghofer Director and IRNH Graduate Coordinator SE-205G 3925 ewenghofer@laurentian.ca
Casey Sigurdson Administrative Assistant SE-205 3976 ruralhealth@laurentian.ca
Dr. Shelley Watson INDH Graduate Coordinator   4223 swatson@laurentian.ca

 

Department of Social Work

The Social Work program is concerned with structural and individual change, and is committed to the eradication of social inequalities based on race, ethnicity, language, religion, marital status, gender, sexual orientation, age, abilities, economic status, political affiliation, national ancestry, and all other forms of oppression. Laurentian’s School of Social Work is committed to promoting awareness of the relationship between culture, language and ethnicity and the implications for social welfare and social work practice. 

Contact Us
Name Title Office Extension Email
Diana Coholic Director and MSW Program Coordinator Sudbury Campus 5053 dcoholic@laurentian.ca
Murielle Pharand Administrative Assistant Sudbury Campus 5056 mpharand@laurentian.ca
Annette Duguay-Savard Secretary Sudbury Campus 5050 aduguay@laurentian.ca
Susan Lacelle Field Placement Supervisor Sudbury Campus 5057 slacelle@laurentian.ca
Leigh MacEwan BSW Program Coordinator Sudbury Campus 5059
Stéphanie Richard Coordonnateur du programme MSS Sudbury Campus 5046 srichard@laurentienne.ca
Sylvie Rivard Coordonnatrice du programme distance BSS Sudbury Campus 5062 srivard@laurentienne.ca
Dominique Mercure Coordonnatrice du programme BSS Sudbury Campus 5061 dmercure@laurentienne.ca
Sandra Mooney Barrie Field Placement Supervisor Barrie Campus 705-728-1968, ext.1648 smooney@laurentian.ca 
Duncan Matheson Barrie BSW Program Coordinator Barrie Campus 6714 dmatheson@laurentian.ca