About Us

Established July 1, 2014, the Faculty of Arts brings together some 140 full-time faculty members at Laurentian University and its federated partners - the University of Sudbury, Thorneloe University and Huntington University – to offer degree programs in Sudbury and by distance. With over 40 full-time francophone faculty members and 11 full-time Indigenous faculty members, the Faculty of Arts is strongly committed to Laurentian University’s bilingual and tricultural mandate which recognizes the French, English and Indigenous cultures of Northern Ontario.


We invite you to discover some of our alumni who have gone on to distinguish themselves in a variety of fields of endeavour. Of particular note are the many contributions to the francophone and Indigenous communities of Northern Ontario. We also invite you to learn about our award-winning faculty members who have been recognized for their outstanding teaching performance.